Minutes of the POST CONVENTION DEC MEETINGV April 17, 2021

The meeting was called to order at 4:02 p.m.

MOTION by Sue Caswell (Unit 35) and seconded by Anarene Robinson (Unit 33) to

dispense with all opening ceremonies.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

ROLL CALL

PRESENT:

NATIONAL OFFICERS

National Executive Committee Member Penny Mazonna

OFFICERS

President Jane Larson

1st Vice President Anarene Robinson

2nd Vice President April Sinclair

Secretary Barbara Nath

Sgt.-at-Arms Lori Fruhwirth

Chaplain Colleen Newman

Historian April Sinclair

Executive Committee Member Frances Bedel

STANDING COMMITTEES

Alaska Girls State Lori Fruhwirth

Children and Youth April Sinclair

Distinguished Guests Penny Mazonna

History April Sinclair

Leadership Sue Caswell

Legislative Penny Mazonna

Membership Anarene Robinson

National Security Frances Bedel

Public Relations Beverly Eads

Veterans Affairs and Rehabilitation April Sinclair

Minutes of the
Post Convention DEC Meeting

ROLL CALL (continued)

PRESENT:

UNITS

Jack Henry Unit 1 Joseph T. Craig Unit 3 Dorman H. Baker Unit 11 General Bucker Unit 16

Robert G. Blair Unit 17

George H. Plumley Memorial Unit 20

Spenard Unit 28 Muldoon Unit 29 Peters Creek Unit 33 Susitna Valley Unit 35 C. Russell Huber Unit 57

PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS

Susan Caswell Beverly Eads Penny Mazonna Carolyn Null Sue Waldhaus Lisa Williamson

EXCUSED

NATIONAL OFFICERS

Alternate National Executive Committee Member Sue Diaz.

OFFICERS

Treasurer Diana Estrada

STANDING COMMITTEES

Americanism Kathy Moore

Audit Sue Diaz

Community Service Debbie Ervin Constitution and Bylaws Sue Diaz

Finance Debbie Lowndes

Past Presidents Parley Debbie Lowndes

PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS

Sharon Cherrette Susan Diaz
Debbie Lowndes Linda Schmitt

ABSENT:

OFFICERS

Executive Committee Member Zona Gregg

ROLL CALL (continued)

ABSENT:

STANDING COMMITTEES

Auxiliary Emergency Fund Zona Gregg Education and Scholarship Lisa Boyles Junior Activities Margaret Clausen-Grim Poppy Margaret Blankenship

UNITS

Seward Unit 5

Merline Elmer Palmer Unit 6

Lynn Canal Unit 12

Sitka Unit 13

Matanuska Valley Unit 15

Ninilchik Unit 18

Con Miller Unit 30

Chappie James Unit 34

Gladys M. Heintz Memorial Unit 27

Peter Heyano Unit 442

PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS

Ruth Brown	Betty Bumala	Laverne Kearns
Evelyn Oliver	June Haas	Lori FitzSimons
Betty Porter	Lavonne Collier	Eva Aulston
Jean Clayton	Etta Singleton	Wilma Stokes
Rehta Foster	Jean Shandy	Jill Pawson

Francisca Guilford Lynn Bash Marge Blankenship

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

There was no Unfinished Business to come before this meeting.

NEW BUSINESS

The following appointments were made by President Jane Larson for the 2021-2022 year

Treasurer – Diana Estrada Secretary – Barbara Nath

MOTION: by Penny Mazonna (Unit 35) and seconded by Anarene Robinson (Unit 33) to

approved the appointments.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

The following Committee Chair appointments were given by President Jane Larson for the 2021-2022 year.

Alaska Girls State Director		
Alaska Girls State 1st Year Board M		Pat François
Alaska Girls State 2 nd Year Board N		
Alaska Girls State 2 Year Board N		
Americanism		Drenda i idalek
Audit		
Auxiliary Emergency Fund		
Children and Youth		
Children and Youth Co-Chair		
Christmas/Domiciliary Project Anchorage		
Christmas Project Fairbanks		rim
Community Service	•	
Constitution and Bylaws	•	
Distinguished Guests		
Education	Lisa Boyles	
Finance	•••	
Finance 1 st Year (chair)		
Finance 2 nd Year		Lisa Boyles
Finance 3 rd Year		VACANT
History	Lori Fruhwirth	
Junior Activities		rim
Junior Activities Co-Chair		
Leadership		S
Legislative	•	
Membership		
National Security		
Past Presidents Parley		
Poppy		
Public Relations	•	
Public Relations Electronic Media		Lisa Williamson
VA&R		
Service to Veterans		
VAVS Representative		
VAVS Deputy (Anchorage)		
VAVS Deputy (Fairbanks)		
VAVS Deputy (Kenai Peninsula)		
VAVS Deputy (Southeast)		V ACANT

MOTION:

by Barbara Nath (Unit 20) and seconded by April Sinclair (Unit 57) to approve the committee chair appointments.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

<u>The Poppy Project</u> is to be determined. President Larson will announce the Poppy Project at the Fall Conference

<u>President Fundraiser</u> – President Larson will continue her original fundraiser.

Fall Workshop –

Jane Bolima (Unit 3) indicated that Joseph T. Craig Unit 3 would be interested in hosting the Fall Conference. It would be the third weekend in October due to conflicts with the first two weekends.

With no other units indicating a desire to host Fall Conference, it will be held in Ketchikan from October 15-17, 2021. Meetings/training will be held on Saturday October 16th and the Girls State and DEC meetings will be held on Sunday, October 17th.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the DEC, the meeting was adjourned at 4:11 p.m.